The University Senate

"Subject to the reserve power of the Trustees ... the University Senate shall be a policy-making body which may consider all matters of University-wide concern, all matters affecting more than one Faculty or school, and all matters pertaining to the implementation and execution of agreements with the other educational institutions that are now or may hereafter become affiliated with the University."

University Statutes §23


111 University Senators

Make up the University Senate

20 Schools and Affiliated Institutions

The 17 schools of Columbia, and Barnard College, Teachers College, and Union Theological Seminary.

18 Committees and Commissions

Conduct University Senate business

7 Constituencies

Administration, Administrative Staff, Alumni, Faculty, Libarians, Research Officers, and Students.

University Senate Plenary Calendar

Monthly meetings of the full University Senate, open to all CUID holders

Join our mailing list


* indicates required