Senate Elections

Why run for the University Senate?

Eligibility to run or vote

University Senate Elections Code

Senate orientation guide

Election Certification Form

Use this form to certify the election of new senators. Fill it out and return it to the Senate office.

Senators elected or reelected in 2017-2018


James Applegate (A&S/Natural Sciences, tenured)
Sarah Azaransky (Union Theological Seminary)
David Bickers (P&S, tenured)
Vincent Blasi (Law, tenured)
Ronald Breslow (A&S/Natural Sciences, tenured)
Mary Byrne (Nursing, nontenured)
June Cross (Journalism, tenured)
Jeanine D'Armiento (P&S, tenured)
Patrice Derrington (Architecture, nontenured)
William Duggan (Business, nontenured)
Greg Freyer (Public Health, nontenured)
Mary Gamble (Public Health, tenured)
Irving Herman (Engineering, tenured)
Julia Hirschberg (Engineering, tenured)
Gur Huberman (Business, tenured)
Matthew L. Jones ( (A&S/Social Sciences, tenured)
W. Ian Lipkin (Public Health, tenured)
Clarisa Long (Law, tenured)
Ellen Marakowitz (A&S/Social Sciences, nontenured)
Yamile Marti (Social Work, nontenured)
Susan McGregor (Journalism, nontenured)
Mignon Moore (Barnard, tenured)
Letty Moss-Salentijn (Dental Medicine, tenured)
Megan Mroczkowski (P&S, nontenured)
Mary Mundinger (Nursing, tenured)
John Mutter (A&S/Natural Sciences, tenured)
Eli Noam (Business, tenured)
Sharyn O'Halloran (SIPA, tenured)
Robert Pollack (A&S/Natural Sciences, tenured)
Douglas Ready (Teachers College, tenured)
Shelley Saltzman (School of Professional Studies, nontenured)
Joseph Slaughter (A&S/Humanities, tenured)
Richard Smiley (P&S, tenured
Paola Valenti (SIPA, nontenured)
Howard Worman (P&S, tenured)
Weiping Wu (Architecture, tenured)

Research officers

Manuela Buonanno (Professional Research Officer)
Regina Martuscello (Postdoctoral Research Officer)
Daniel Wolf Savin (Professional Research Officer)
Stefaan Van Liefferinge (Professional Research Officer)

Library staff

Teresa Harris


Artrease Benoit (Business)
Yu Cheng (GSAS/HUM)
Krystal Cruz (Teachers College)
Kira Dennis (Barnard)
Cassie Hartnett (UTS student observer)
Omar Khan (CC)
Indira Martinez (Social Work)
Shazia Mitha (Nursing)
Tiago Ornaghi de Aguiar (Journalism)
James Piacentini (Architecture)
Yashshri Soman (SIPA)
Eric D. Tang (Law)

Administrative staff

Janie Weiss (CUMC)
Joel Rosenblatt (Morningside-Lamont)


Sharon Liebowitz (GSAPP)

Election procedures

Those responsible for managing Senate elections follow these procedures:

1. An announcement is made to the entire constituency and self-nominations are received over a period of one week.

2. An announcement of the candidates and the dates of campaigning are sent out and the period of voting is one week.

3. Votes are counted and certification forms for new senators submitted to the Senate office. Election results are reported to the Senate's Elections Commission on the Election Certification Form. Questions concerning Senate elections? Consult the Elections Code.