University Senate                                                          Proposed: February 1, 2008

Adopted: February 1, 2008








WHEREAS                conflict and the need for conflict resolution present themselves on the local, state, national and international levels, and


WHEREAS                conflict resolution professionals work in a range of fields, including business, law, education, health care and government, but few of  them are formally recognized or trained beyond ad hoc workshops and non-credit courses offered by professional associations, and


WHEREAS                the School of Continuing Education proposes to offer a Master of Science program in negotiation and conflict resolution, and


WHEREAS                the proposed M.S. program builds on work being done at Teachers College in the International Center for Cooperation and Conflict Resolution (ICCCR) and at the School of International Affairs and Public Affairs in the Center for International Conflict Resolution (CICR), and


WHEREAS                the proposed program does not duplicate or replace any existing programs, and is an opportunity for people already working in the field, including those who have completed the ICCR certificate program, and


WHEREAS                the proposed program is unique in the greater metropolitan area in putting negotiation and conflict resolution at the center of the program rather than in the context of another discipline, or as a concentration within a degree program, and


WHEREAS                the proposed program has the support of the Executive Committee of the School of Continuing Education and the Provost, and


WHEREAS                the Education Committee of the Senate has favorably reviewed the proposal,


THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED       that  the University Senate approve the proposed program and forward it to the Trustees for appropriate action with the proviso that the Education Committee will review the program in five years.




                                                                                    Education Committee