University Senate                                                                          

Proposed:  September 25, 2015



University Senate

Friday, September 25, 2015
1:15 p.m., Davis Auditorium, Schapiro CEPSR


1. Adoption of the agenda

2. Adoption of the minutes of May 1, 2015

3. President’s remarks

4. Executive Committee Chair’s remarks: The Year Ahead for the University Senate

--Update on the Student Quality-of-Life Survey

--Status of the Proposed Revisions of the Rules of University Conduct

--Update on sexual assault policy and the AAU Campus Climate Survey from Sen. Suzanne Goldberg, Executive Vice President for University Life

--Establishment of the Senate Commission on Diversity, with co-chairs Sen. Jillian Ross (Stu., SEAS) and Sen. Shantanu Lal (NT, CDM)

--Senate quality-of-life survey for faculty and research officers

--Introduction of new senators by Samuel Roth, Senate Elections Commissioner

--Approval of Standing Committee Roster; confirmation of new Executive Committee student and faculty members

--Honorary degrees nomination period (Honors and Prizes Committee chair Sen. Debra Wolgemuth, Ten., P&S)

5. Introducing new members of the University administration:

--Christopher L. Brown, Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs; topics to include the Commission on the Status of Women Pipeline Report 2004-13

--Sen. Ann Thornton, University Librarian and Vice Provost, topics to include open access

7. Annual reports 2014-15:

--Campus Planning and Physical Development--Sen. Ron Breslow (Ten., A&S/NS)

--Officers of Research--Sen. Daniel Savin (Research Officers)

--External Relations--Sen. Howard Worman (Ten., P&S).

8. Other reports

--Professor Jeffrey Gordon, chair, Advisory Committee on Socially Responsible Investing

--Jeffrey Kysar (Ten., SEAS), chair, Provost’s Advisory Committee on ROTC